The General Assembly: 

The highest policy making body of the Association is the Annual General Assembly composed of Chief Executives of member airlines. The Annual General Assembly is presided over by the President of the Association. Mr. Rui Carreira, Chief Executive Officer of TAAG Angola, is the President of the Association for 2020. In this capacity, Mr. Carreira and TAAG Angola will host the 53rd AGA.

Mr. Rui Carreira

2020 President of AFRAA and CEO of TAAG Angola

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, composed of 11 members elected on a sub-regional basis among Chief Executives and ex-officio members with voting rights who are members of the IATA Board of Governors, exercises executive authority. Its function is to ensure supervision of the affairs, funds and property of the Association and formulation and determination of policies within the framework of Articles of Association, By-Laws and Resolutions adopted by the General Assembly.

The Executive Committee membership for 2021 is as follows:

Capt. Pascal Kasongo Mwema

Chief Executive Officer - Congo Airways

Chairperson of the Executive Committee

Ms. Yvonne Manzi Makolo

Chief Executive Officer - Rwandair

1st Vice Chairperson

Mr Mohamed EL Khalifa BIYAH

Chief Executive Officer - Mauritania Airlines

2nd Vice Chairperson

Mr. Tewolde Gebremariam

Chief Executive Officer

Ethiopian Airlines

Capt. Amr Abuelenein

Group Chairman & CEO

EgyptAir Holding Company

Mr. ELLA NGUEMA Jean Christophe

Chief Executive Officer


Mr. Indradev Buton

Officer-in-Charge and Accountable Manager

Air Mauritius

Mr. Abdelhamid Addou

Chief Executive Officer

Royal Air Maroc

Mr MESROUA Amine Debaghine

Chief Executive Officer

Air Algerie

Mr. Allan Kilavuka

Chief Executive Officer

Kenya Airways

Mr. Rui Carreira

Chief Executive Officer

TAAG Angola

Mr. Joao Carlos Po Jorge

Chief Executive Officer

LAM Mozambique

The Secretariat

The Secretariat serves as the administrative, co-ordination and research centre for the Association. It is headed by a Secretary General who is responsible for managing the day-to-day activities of the Association. In carrying out his duties, he is supported by a staff of four senior officers.


Mr. Abderahmane Berthé

Secretary General


Below is a list of our current partners. please click on a partner image to get more information.