Subscribe in a reader Facebook page Follow me

Air Burkina



Capt. Blaise Sanou
Chief Executive Officer

Air Burkina is an airline headquartered in the Air Burkina Storey Building in Ouagadougou. It is the national airline, operating scheduled services to one domestic destination (Bobo-Dioulasso), as well as regional services to Togo, Benin, Mali, Niger, Côte d'Ivoire and Ghana. Its main base is Ouagadougou Airport.

The airline was established on 17 March 1967 under the name Air Volta. It was originally part owned by the Burkinabé government, part by Air France and part privately held. After the demise of Air Afrique, the state of Burkina Faso on 21 February 2001 privatised Air Burkina, transferring 56% of the shares to the AKFED / IPS consortium.

IATA Code : 2J


Cooperate Address :
29,Avenue de la Nation, BP 1459 Ouagadougou,
Burkina Faso
Tel:+226 5049 2323
Fax:+226 50317174


AFRAA  Membership

Became a member in 2002
Established in 1967

Ownership Structure 
AKFED/IPS consortium (part of the Aga Khan Development Network) : 88%
Government : 5%
Other : 7%

Commercial Partnership
Air Cote D'Ivoire
Kenya Airways

Destinations Served
Domestic - 2
Regional - 7




Bombardier CRJ-200ER - 1
McDonnell Douglas MD-87 - 2

Last modified on Tuesday, 02 October 2018 16:15